The Outline Really is the First Draft.

I finished my outline!

This is the moment where I feel pretty great, despite the issues I face. I took a look at it and noticed there are parts of the story that need some attention. But there is something that is telling me to not worry about that and keep working.

So here is the process I’m taking – 

I had to agressively turn a paragraph summary into a three-act structure, then turn that structure into a 5436 word outline. This happened because I kept finding references when I got stuck. I took breaks when necessary, but my schedule forced me to return to the story.

  1. Since that part is done, I’m going to tie up loose ends in the outline. My focus is making sure my story flows completely.
  2. Next, I will clean up the outline to make sure it’s clear when being read (*cough* grammar and punctuation checker). I’m not worrying about writing here, just working on the story’s present flow.
  3. Third, get my critique partner to look over my outline and comment on any missing links in the story. I could post on Agent Query but I think it’s more for having advice. So I’m going to try Critique Circle, rack up some points, and have someone comment on the story’s flow.
  4. The break I get from these guys reading will be used to work on the remaining parts of the Outlanders world and writing a query.
  5. Once I get my reviews back, I’ll use them to fix the story.
  6. Flesh out and clean up the ‘second draft’, then get it reviewed again by my critique partner, Critique Circle, and a new candidate – my little brother (he’s fourteen now, and could be the target reader I am searching for).
  7. I should have a better idea of the story’s flow and flesh out my ‘second draft’ into a ‘third draft’ or what experts call, the first draft. This will take long since the wordcount will go from 5,000-10,000 words to novel length (I know it will swell to over 80,000. I just have that feeling).
  8. Keep editing and revising this work into many drafts with the help of workshops and my critique partner. This is where I know I will cut the story down.
  9. Once I feel the need to not go back and revise, I’m getting a professional proofreader and editor to check for mistakes.
  10. Use that break to fix my query and get that looked over on AgentQuery. 
  11. Work on my submission process while writing the next book (yup, it’s a series).

I’m depending on my instinct here, but I’m not changing much of this plan. There is a Plan B if the submission process flunks, so what happens in number 12 depends on the responses.

Novel Diaries – Day 5 – Lessons Learned:

  • Creating flowers, animals and food are awesome!
  • Keep not seeing the outline as an outline. It helps alot.
  • Planning one book is nice, but a series is on a whole another level.
  • Keep pushing and believe in yourself. If not you, who will?

 

Leave a Reply

