First Action Scene!

So I did my first action scene…and it was crazy.

I type like I’m running away from something. I never like feeling stuck. If I do, I go into a typing panic and begin jotting down all types of crap before my mind settles back into its, ‘I’m typing this story and nothing else’ mode.

I decided to go online to do a bit of article reading. Many of the tutorial articles said, don’t explain too much, which helped.

One thing that really worked was thinking of my new roommate’s way of speaking and Xena: The Warrior Princess.

Hold on a second!

What do these two have to do with action scenes? I have no idea, but they helped. For one, let’s focus on my roommate. I love how she speaks, but there were several times where I’d try to explain what she said and she would tell me that I never understood her, even though she spoke clear English.

After a while, she said it again, and then it hit me.

I told her, “I think you speak in parables.”

She blinked. “Really?…Yes. You are right.”

“That’s why I always take what you say literally, not figuratively.”

Now on to Xena, my favorite warrior princess.

The best series of all times. I could watch this over and over again if I could, but not now because I’m watching Game of Thrones and Attack on Titans. 

I remembered one episode where Gabrielle had to use Ares’s help to write an action scene. Ares told her to stop writing things poetically. Xena was fighting, and she needed to write like Xena fought.

In other words, ‘get straight to the point.’

Action scenes are a different form on their own. A great lesson I learned is that trying something is the only way to practice. 

My action scene is definitely not perfect, but I’m glad I, at least, tried something new and finished it on a good footing. I feel like the more I make action scenes, the more I will get used to it. It forced me to begin thinking more about the supernatural abilities of the characters.

My pet peeve is when supernatural ability isn’t apart of the character. I love Eren’s (Attack on Titan) ability to transform into a titan, and admire that the titan is also alot like him. It’s an extension of himself as a person.

Lessons Learned:

  1. The best way to practice is to try again and again.
  2. (Repeat) New ideas should not be feared when turning an outline into a story.
  3. When you begin to experience writer’s block, remember to do mind reference first before research reference. Mind referencing is when you subconsciously use any memory to flesh out your novel (a.k.a bullsh#$%ing). Research referencing is when you find actual or fictional events that have to do with your novel to help write it more. (I’ll talk more about it later).
  4. Love the process.

Wordcount: 23,000+, 80+ pages.

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

