On Mind vs. Research Referencing: Onto the third Arc!

Hey everyone.

It has been a productive week, despite handling the new job. I wanted to talk a bit more about what I learned through referencing while I write.

There’s  a saying that bullsh@#ting can go a long way and it does, despite the outline I have. And I have a process I recognize when bullsh#$ting.

I do something called referencing when it comes to overcoming certain blocks while typing my story. And I noticed that there are two types – mind and research referencing.

Mind referencing –

Mind referencing happens when I try to put myself in scenes that are difficult for me to understand. Here is my process – 

1. Visual mapping – after typing up a scene and getting stuck, I start putting myself in the character’s shoes. I do not look for research here. I only try to dig whatever I can out of my head. I do this by tapping into any similar memory I’ve had or a current event around the neighborhood. By some imagining, I see myself in that scene by then. Visual mapping also works wonders after you had a good night’s sleep (but try to get it through not sleeping too).

2. Inputting – I type in whatever I can after visual mapping. In this part, I can be in a crowd of people and tune them out. I usually go into a different zone here. The clicking noises of typing keeps me going and I never realize I wrote a full page in ten minutes until I stop.

Research referencing –

I had this experience with visual referencing while turning my first outline into the second outline. (I call them first and second drafts.)

1. Note taking – this happens after you type down all you need for the moment. Here, you will see plot holes you have to fill in for any section you type down. For this section, you need a bit of research.

I learned researching cannot be done in one huge bundle. It has to be done in multiple sessions focusing on a certain topic. It continues until you literally are done with the entire story.

The three steps I take with researching are:

  • I look on the internet.
  • If I need more info, I look through my collection of books.
  • And last, I go out to the library to do an hour of reading (but this never really happens because there are textbooks on the internet now *wink*).

So take notes after identifying what you need to fill. No pressure trying to get every note. Just get enough for you to fill in that plot hole.

2. Filling In – This is another version of inputting times the many times you notetake after research. This is where you get the new information you gained and fill it in the holes.

I see this as traveling to a different country before coming back home to talk about it to your friends and family.

Lessons Learned

1. Live your story, don’t just type it.

2. Side projects are nice too. I write fanfiction on the side. It’s been my thing since I moved back to the US.

Word count – 26,000+, 90+ pages, starting the third arc (I break up my story in arcs). 

Leave a Reply

