Progess: treating powers like characters too

This didn’t occur to me until I started making more scenes with magic.

I had a good idea of how everything should work because I made an overview of magic in my story. But of course, there were more abilities that just kept popping up.

Many of us see supernatural abilities as an extension of the character (like I did), but I’m beginning to see it as a symbol of the character. I managed to get myself a little notebook to use for jotting down ideas this week to jot and sketch ideas.

Do you need a profile for a character’s abilities?

That’s something a lot of writers are probably discussing. But to throw out my opinion, I think you have to work with what you can do.

Like I said, I started with a three page overview of the types of powers in my story. Then, I described each character with their main powers (one sentence of what they can do and what they can’t).

And as I write the story, I add on to the main powers with others. Sometimes I change them. One of the ways this is done is with alot of multiple references – these references are a mixture of real, fiction and obsevation.

What progress am I making?

I remembered someone posting on a Facebook wiritng group I joined about not putting his protagonist in the ‘special’ world after writing a hundred pages. Everyone commented he was taking too long to introduce the world, but I felt he shouldn’t have asked anyone.

I could be wrong. I don’t find myself in that position, but I understand that everything needs to come out your lenses first, before you consult others to begin trimming it down for you.

I don’t give myself limits. I go as far as my head tells me to go. I did ask lots of people what they thought in the beginning and changed my story several times. But now I let myself go far without asking anyone. Even with the powers, I still go as far as I can because I know others’ll trim it to a good shape when I’m done.

Lessons Learned –

  1. Powers have personalities too.
  2. Consider saving the document on multiple platforms. I found an old flashdrive. I turn my updates into Word documents and save it on my flashdrive and computer. I keep the flashdrive around my neck as a little reminder of my sessions for the next day.
  3. Carry a little book or use your phone for extra notes. It also doesn’t hurt to have a note section at the bottom of your novel to jot down any changes you need to make.
  4. Enjoy exploring your world.
  5. Remember to enjoy the real world too. I visited an old library after ten years. I purchased – The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan (I love it already).

Wordcount – 33,000+, 110+ pages

 

Leave a Reply

